Meet the Board

Dr. Keith A. Nichols, Chairman
Dr. Nichols has practiced Medicine in Owego for over forty years. He is now professionally focused on Aviation Medicine and Home Care. He is an active member of the Kiwanis Club of Owego and their current president. Dr. Nichols has been a Foundation director since 1994.

Dr. Gary J. Williams, Vice Chairman
Dr. Williams practices optometry in Owego. He is past president of the College of Optometrists in Vision Development and has served as the education chair since 1996. An active Owego Rotarian, Dr. Williams has resided in the village of Owego for over 40 years. He was elected to TCSCF’s Board in 1989.

J. Paul Cavataio, Treasurer
A native of Tioga County, Mr. Cavataio was the owner-operator of Agway Farm and Home Stores in Owego and in Endicott for many years. He is a long-time resident of the town of Owego and has served on the TCSCF Board since 1998. Mr. Cavataio also serves on the Board of Directors for the Broome Cooperative Insurance Company.

Carolyn Wright, Secretary
Mrs. Wright is a retired educator and a lifelong resident of Tioga County.  An Owego Rotarian and a member of the Friends of the Coburn Free Library, she resides in the Village of Owego. She joined the Board of Directors in 2001.

Maureen Hawley, Consultant
Ms. Hawley is a lifelong resident of Tioga County and was elected to the TCSCF Board in 2017.  Ms. Hawley has extensive experience with older citizens and has a keen interest in their well-being. Because of work pressure, Ms. Hawley now serves the Board in the role of consultant.

Ralph E. Kelsey
Mr. Kelsey, is a lifelong resident of Tioga County, NY.  A retired banker, he continues to serve on the Board of Directors of Tioga State Bank and the Broome Cooperative Insurance Company. Mr. Kelsey serves as Lay Pastor of the Grace Bible Church, in Candor NY.  He volunteers as a Board member of the Tioga County Farm Bureau and the Tioga County Industrial Development Agency.  Mr. Kelsey resides in the Town of Owego and began serving on the TCSCF Board in 1989.  Mr. Kelsey served as chairman of TCSCF for many years.  Now he is devoting more of his time to working behind the scenes for TCSCF.

Merlin Lessler
A retired electric and gas utility manager, Mr. Lessler was appointed to the board in 2014. An Owego resident, he works as a freelance writer under the name “The Old Coot.” He is also an active Owego Rotarian.

Ross McGraw
A retired educator, Mr. McGraw has served on the Board since 1994. A resident of Newark Valley for over 45 years, he also serves on the Board of Trustees for the Newark Valley Historical Society. Mr. McGraw is an Historical Society founder and former Board president and chairman.

Mary Ellen Odom
Mrs. Odom has lived in the Berkshire area for 60 years after growing up in Greene, NY.  She worked as a teaching assistant for Newark Valley Central Schools for many years. Mrs. Odom joined the TCSCF Board in 2020. She also serves as the president of the Tillers and Toilers Garden Club, has served on the board of the Newark Valley Historical Society, and is a member of P.E.O. Chapter B (Philanthropic Education Organization).

Judith M. Quigley
Ms. Quigley is retired as an attorney for Tioga County. She resides in the town of Owego and has been a resident of Tioga County for more than 50 years. Ms. Quigley is an active Owego Rotarian and has served on the Owego Gymnastics Board of Directors. She was elected to the TCSCF Board in 2011.

Emily Rankin
Mrs. Rankin is a resident of Nichols and has lived in Tioga County for over 50 years. She is a retired accountant. Ms. Rankin was elected to the TCSCF Board in 2000.

William H. Standinger, III
Mr. Standinger joined the TCSCF Board in 2018. He is a long-time resident of Tioga County and is retired from the New York State Police after a 25-year career. Mr. Standinger has served as a Tioga County Legislator for more than 10 years and actively participates in many local organizations. His desire is to keep Tioga County a wonderful place to live and raise a family.

David Wheelock
Mr. Wheelock has been an insurance agent in Owego for more than 25 years. He joined the TCSCF Board in 2000. Mr. Wheelock also serves as a volunteer at his church and on the Board of the Les Wagner Foundation.

David C. Woodburn
Mr. Woodburn is a third-generation resident of Tioga County.  He joined the TCSCF Board in 2015. Mr. Woodburn serves as a board member for Tioga County Rural Ministry, the Charles Bassett Youth Foundation and he is on the Finance Council of Saint Patrick’s Church, Owego. Mr. Woodburn’s working years were spent in banking and public administration.